11th Edition

Fraunhofer Portugal Challenge 2020


Contest Presentation


Get to know all about the contest by downloading the presentation of the Fraunhofer Portugal Challenge 2020.


The Challenge


Consult the information you need before applying to the Fraunhofer Portugal Challenge 2020.


Submit your idea


The application period ended on July 31st 2020.




See the highlights of the Closing Events over the years.


Previous editions


Get to know all the previous winners and the themes of their theses, as well as the jury panels since the 1st edition, back in 2010.


Success beyond the Challenge


We catch up with some past edition participants who have gone on to do great things since participating.

10th edition

PhD winners of 2019

1st prize

Vanessa Duarte


Institution: Universidade de Aveiro

Thesis: “Connecting the Unconnected: The New Era of Satellites”

2nd prize

Ricardo Correia


Institution: Universidade de Aveiro

Thesis: "Passive Backscatter Sensors for IoT Applications"

3rd prize

João Felício


Institution: Instituto Superior Técnico da Universidade de Lisboa

Thesis: "Microwave Breast Imaging Using Dry Setup"

10th edition

MSc winners of 2019

1st prize

Catarina Lourenço


Institution: Faculdade de Engenharia da Universidade do Porto

Thesis: “Deep Learning for EEG Analysis in Epilepsy”


2nd prize

Gonçalo Marcelino


Institution: Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologias da Universidade Nova de Lisboa

Thesis: “A Computational Approach to the Art of Visual Storytelling”

3rd prize

Manuel Carneiro


Institution: Universidade de Coimbra

Thesis: “Comfortable Fabric-Based Headband for Forehead EEG Monitoring”